Three-Ingredient Mini Chocolate Croissants

The movie: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

The recipe: Sinfully Easy Chocolate Croissant Recipe

The story: Yesterday was Audrey Hepburn’s 85th birthday, so today I am sharing a recipe inspired by her, in my opinion, most famous role as Holly Golightly. I always loved the opening scene of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Audrey Hepburn is first seen window shopping at 6 a.m. in an evening gown on an empty Fifth Avenue while eating a croissant and sipping coffee.

audrey

This scene perfectly captures the personality and quirkiness of Audrey Hepburn’s character, all without her having to say a word. When I realized I had left over puff pastry from making Banana Tarte Tatin, my mind immediately jumped to this movie. I had no idea using puff pastry to make croissants was this easy! Using the recipe I found, all I needed to do was wrap up puff pastry triangles with some chocolate inside, and brush them with a wash of egg and water.

You probably could even skip the egg wash and make this a two-ingredient recipe, but the croissants would just come out less shiny. These were perfectly bite-sized and delicious! I would definitely make these again, and have already thought about the variations of fillings that are possible (basically any type of candy). Check out the recipe inspiredtaste.net!

2014-04-25 12.58.04

2014-04-25 13.05.11

2014-04-25 13.40.38

Leave a Reply

