Bacon mushroom spinach crustless quiche.

This recipe also has no real backstory, but the name does. There are certain food words that I find very unappetizing, even if I like the food itself. I hate the word meat, but am not a vegetarian (despite the beliefs of many). Two others words I hate are eggs and casserole. Eggs reminds me of a bad smell, but I eat them all the time. I immediately associate the word casserole with a canned cream of something soup, which is not appealing to me.

So even though most people would call this recipe an “egg casserole,” I refuse to give it that name. I do, however, love the sound of a quiche, so that’s what this has become. Since quiches are defined by having a crust, we’re just going to get around that by labeling it a crustless quiche. Way more appealing than an egg casserole.

I made this while I was home last weekend for Easter. When figuring out what to make for brunch, I did things Chopped style and only used ingredients we had on hand. While I looked at other recipes for guidance on quantity, cooking temperature and time, the ingredients weren’t based on anything other than what sounded good to me at the time. That’s the beauty of a crustless quiche–it’s very adaptable based on your personal preferences. It also would be a great make-ahead breakfast, as one batch makes enough for at least a week and a half.

2014-04-20 12.32.40

Ingredients

  • 9 eggs
  • 3 cups spinach, chopped
  • 8 slices of bacon, cooked, chopped and divided
  • 1/2 cup white mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I used swiss), divided
  • Salt and pepper, if preferred

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and grease an 8×8 baking dish.

Scramble eggs in a large bowl, and add spinach, mushrooms, 1/2 cup cheese, 6 slices of bacon and salt and pepper if desired.

Pour egg mixture into baking dish, and top with the remaining cheese and bacon.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until cheese is slightly browned.

Enjoy!

2014-04-20 12.40.17

Leave a Reply

