Sumbitch Cookies {How I Met Your Mother Series Finale}

The show: How I Met Your Mother

The recipe: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies (with my own addition of caramel)

The story: It’s hard to believe that the How I Met Your Mother series finale is tonight. After nine seasons, I still don’t feel tired of the story or the plot. For a lot of shows, it feels like the last season should have happened years ago, but to me that isn’t the case here. To How I Met Your Mother’s fans, there are still so many questions that need to be answered.

With its interesting method of storytelling, How I Met Your Mother references previous episodes and jokes constantly. Whenever I’m talking to one of my friends about the show who has never seen it, I always tell them to watch it from start to finish, or else it just isn’t as good.

The only bad thing I have to say about How I Met Your Mother is that there are not very many food references made throughout its 208 episodes. I knew I wanted to make something for the series finale, but there was just nothing that jumped out at me. I thought about making something with pineapple, cupcakes, or burgers, but none of them seemed important enough for the finale.

With the whole last season focused around the discovery of “The Mother,” I decided that a recipe from the season premiere, in which she’s first revealed, would be perfect. When the mother first appears, she and a distressed Lily are seated next to each other on a bus. In an act of stress eating, Lily and the mother go through an entire container of chocolate, peanut butter, and caramel cookies, which they dubbed “sumbitches.”

 

To make these, I started with a chocolate peanut butter cookie recipe from King Arthur Flour and stuffed them with baking caramels cut in half. While mine don’t look like the cookies they had on the show, the key ingredients are all there. After I made these, I realized their context within the show is perfect for tonight. I’m not ready for How I Met Your Mother to be over. As I watch the series finale tonight, I will most definitely eat one of these cookies to lament the end of one of my favorite shows.

2014-03-31 16.28.44

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies (with Caramels)

Total time: 27 to 37 minutes      Yield: 30 cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 large egg

16 baking caramels, halved

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease (or line with parchment) two baking sheets.

Whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a medium-sized bowl.

Beat together the sugars, butter, and peanut butter in another bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and water, then stir in the dry ingredients, blending well.

Flatten about 2 tablespoons of dough into the palm of your hand, and place a caramel half in the center.

Wrap the dough around the caramel, sealing all edges. Repeat with the rest of the dough.

Bake the cookies for 7 to 9 minutes, or until they’re set and you can smell chocolate. Remove them from the oven, and cool on a rack.

2014-03-31 17.02.04

2014-03-31 17.18.33

Stuffing cookies with other desserts is always a good idea.

Leave a Reply

