Baking with Anchorman

The movie: Anchorman

The recipe: Butterscotch Scotchies 

The story: When thinking of all of my favorite movies for this blog, Anchorman was one of the first ones that popped into my head. But for some reason when I tried to pinpoint exactly why I liked it so much, my mind went blank. Anchorman is just funny. The real challenge in picking Anchorman was that Ron Burgundy and the Channel 4 News team do a whole lot more drinking than they do eating.

While it may be kind of a stretch, I settled on making Butterscotch Scotchies in honor of the above quote. Despite its redundant name, the Butterscotch Scotchies recipe makes for good, basic cookie bars. They were very easy to throw together, and received rave reviews from my taste testers. The oatmeal in these  is what makes them stand out from other cookie bars. The recipe doesn’t specify what kind of oatmeal to use, so I used old fashioned. Quick oats are cut much smaller than old fashioned, so using these gave the bars a great texture.

I made a few modifications to recipe that didn’t impact the final product. I substituted butter for shortening, as I didn’t have an shortening on hand. I left out the grated orange peel for the same reason, and they still tasted good. I am curious, though, as to how butterscotch and orange would taste together, so maybe I’ll have to try these again some time.

Finally, the 15×10 pan in my kitchen was nowhere to be found as I started baking (yay college), so I had to switch to an 8×8. I did my best to adjust the temperature and baking time since the bars were much thicker than they should have been, but they still came out a little underdone (which to me is a good thing…). Unlike the Banana Tarte Tatin, these bars did not make for an attractive dessert. Luckily they were gone so fast that it didn’t really matter. I would definitely make these again!

I know, they kind of look like chicken nuggets.

I know, they kind of look like chicken nuggets.

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 cup butter-flavored vegetable shortening

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 tablespoons grated orange peel, (1 medium orange)

2 tablespoons water

3 cups quick or old-fashioned oats

1 2/3 cups (11-oz. pkg.) Butterscotch morsels

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease 15 x 10-inch jelly-roll pan.

Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a small bowl. Beat shortening, sugar, eggs and orange peel in large mixer bowl until creamy. Gradually beat in flour mixture and water. Stir in oats and morsels. Spread batter into prepared baking pan.

Bake for 18 to 22 minutes or until golden brown. Cool completely in pan on wire rack and cut into bars.

Looking for more butterscotch recipes? Check out the ones below!

No-Bake Cashew Butterscotch Pretzel Bar from Bakers Royale

White Chocolate and Butterscotch Sunflower Seed Butter (WOW I need to try this)

Butterscotch Pull-Aparts from Butter With a Side of Bread

Leave a Reply

