Baking with Beauty and the Beast

The movie: Beauty and the Beast

The recipe: Caramelized Banana Tarte Tatin

The story: As a lover of all things Disney, it seems impossible to me to not have a favorite Disney princess. Mine has always been Belle, because she’s not a helpless and needy as the others. Beauty and the Beast is also great because of its amazing soundtrack. Seeing as this entire blog is about food, I would think it’s obvious my favorite song is Be Our Guest. As the song includes tons of different foods, my goal for a recipe was to just make something French. I toyed around with the idea of cream puffs, macarons and other complicated desserts, but couldn’t pick one that really jumped out at me. Then I realized this was happening on my counter.

2014-02-28 22.18.56

I would say that almost every time I’ve baked something with bananas it is because I have no other option. These overripe bananas gave me some guidance in picking a recipe, and I landed on a simple Banana Tarte Tatin from Food & Wine. This recipe can be made with all different kinds of fruit and is very quick, making it a great recipe to have on hand. With so few ingredients, I’m sure a lot of people could make this without a trip to the grocery store.

In the recipe, the bananas are placed in concentric circles around a 10-inch skillet, which went surprisingly well for me. I’m not one for patience or fine motor skills, so I had very low expectations for the appearance of the tarte.

2014-02-28 22.56.01

Once the bananas cook in the oven with puff pastry on top, the entire skillet is inverted onto a plate, which I did not see going well. Luckily, I was able to flip the skillet without sustaining any serious burns. The recipe was really simple, but it also wasn’t very exciting. As easy as it is to make baked banana on a puff pastry, all it tastes like is baked banana on a puff pastry. Maybe I just don’t like fruit desserts as much as all things chocolate and peanut butter, but I just wasn’t too excited by this. At least it looked good!

2014-02-28 23.30.10

Banana Tarte Tatin

Yield: 1 10-inch tarte     Prep: 30 minutes     Cook time: 40 minutes

Ingredients

3/4 cup sugar

1/8 cup water

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

4 firm, ripe bananas

1 sheet puff pastry

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a 10-inch ovenproof skillet, stir the sugar with 2 tablespoons of the water.

Cook over moderately high heat, stirring occasionally, until a light amber caramel forms. Remove the skillets from the heat, add 2 tablespoons of butter to each and stir until combined.

Slice the bananas 1/2 inch thick. Carefully arrange the bananas in the skillets in overlapping concentric circles, working from the edges to the center.

Carefully roll out the puff pastry and cut into rounds. Poke the pastry all over with a fork and lay the rounds over the bananas.

Bake the tart in the upper and lower third of the oven for about 40 minutes, or until the pastry is golden brown and puffed and the filling is bubbling. Let the pans stand for 10 minutes.

Invert a plate over the skillet, then carefully flip both the plate and skillet. Tap lightly, then remove the skillet.

Cut the tart into wedges and serve.

Looking for a variation on tarte Tatin? Here’s a few other versions:

Apple Tart Tatin

Pear Tarte Tatin

Tomato Tarte Tatin

Leave a Reply

